Skip to content

Favorite Things – Baby Edition

January 20, 2011

When I was pregnant with Eloise, I scoured the internet looking for anything I could find from real moms on what products/gear they used for their babies.  I wanted to hear from moms actually using the stuff on a day-to-day basis.  This information was so helpful.  There is a ton of baby-related stuff out there and, in order to sell it, the sellers have to make you think you need it.  The truth is, you don’t. 

In the months and weeks leading up to Eloise’s due date, I was worried about getting all of the various gadgets I thought we needed.  Then, I had an epiphany.  I realized, as long as we had a car seat (so we could bring her home), a place for her to sleep, some diapers, something for her to eat (whether breast milk or formula) and a few articles of clothing, we would be fine.  Naturally, we had much more than that, but those are the necessities. 

Another important point – not all babies like the same things.  For instance, Eloise hated the swing – at least the one at our house.  There are hundreds – if not thousands – of babies that love their swings.  They will enjoy them for many blissful minutes, freeing up their parents to do things like eat and go to the bathroom.  Eloise was not this baby.  She was also very particular about her bottles.  She likes to eat at ‘mom’s place’ as her pediatrician says.  We went through five or so different kinds of bottles.  The ones that finally worked?  Good old Playtex Ventaire.  Nothing fancy.  I can get three for the cost of one of the new ‘must have’ bottles.

I guess, I’m just trying to say, you will figure out what is best for you and your baby.  We didn’t have to have any of these items, but they made life a little easier for us.  And again, these are just my opinions and what Eloise liked.  I’m not getting paid for these opinions (alas-the extra cash would be nice).

1.  Halo Sleepsack Swaddle:  Eloise slept in this thing every night for the first threeish months of her life (after we brought her home and her jaundice went away).  She loved being swaddled.  It kept her nice and snug and she couldn’t break out of it.  However, some babies hate being swaddled.  If you baby is not a hater, I recommend this.  Four thumbs up (two from me and two from Eloise).

2.  Blankets:  I am obsessed with baby blankets.  We have way more than we need.  These, are my favorite.  They are a great size (bigger than your standard receiving blanket) and are great for swaddling, covering up when nursing and laying on the floor for tummy time (which Eloise hated, by the way).  These particular ones are from Target, but they are made by Carter’s, so you can find them at Kohl’s, Carter’s, a lot of places.

3.  Boppy:  I still use this when nursing Eloise and she is approaching seven months old.  It helps me get her in a good position.  And, now that she is heavier, it gives my arms a break.  There are other brands, but this is the one we used.  I would also suggest getting more than one cover.  Babies are messy eaters.

4.  Bouncer:  While Eloise hated her swing, she enjoys the bouncy seat.  She still sits in it in the morning and plays with the toys that hang down.  I should probably check the weight limit.  She’s probably too heavy for it.  Sigh…we will miss this one.

5.  Cloth Diapers:  We are a disposable diaper family, but these are the only things we use for burp rags.  They are super-duper absorbent (makes sense since they are diapers).  As a bonus, when we’re done using them as burp rags, they also make awesome dust rags.

6.  Jumperoo:  Eloise pink-puffy-heart loves this thing.  We inherited it from some friends (thanks, Heidi and Brent!) and it is the best.thing.ever.  Eloise loves to jump.  Sometimes, she literally jumps out of her socks.  Then, Lola steals them and gets them all slobbery.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

